Day 13: I cheated :(

Wellll…. Today has been super fun. I slept in just a little and woke up to coffee and an egg scramble. My husband is the bomb. I have been feeling so weighed down with all the responsibility of preparing meals 3 times a day. I make breakfast for us, I pack our lunches, and then we typically cook dinner together. He was so sweet yesterday and made us burgers and sweet potato fries and then made us breakfast. I absolutely needed the break from cooking. I really enjoyed sitting on the couch making my meal plan and grocery list. It took me about 2 hours to compile those two items….. That would be because I was looking up new recipes and trying to figure out what in the world we were going to eat for breakfast. I’ve noticed that a lot of these paleo people love to wake up and eat soup or leftovers from last nights dinner. That just isn’t my style because I LOVE breakfast foods. Anyways, I thought I’d post my meal plan to just give you an idea of what we’re eating throughout the week.

20140111-175956.jpg
I just love the personalized notepad. A few years ago Chris got them as a Christmas gift from his employer. I find that so funny even though I love using them. I found majority of the recipes from http://www.nomnompaleo.com and the chili recipe is from http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com. These are both great resources for recipes and information about paleo.

As the title suggests…. We accidentally cheated today. Chris and I were heading to the grocery store and there is this amazing BBQ restaurant close by. So I figured we could get some smoked chicken sandwiches and ditch the bread. Unfortunately there was a light amount of BBQ drizzled on the meat. Chris also ordered some Brunswick stew (he should have known better). So….that was our slight cheat today. I don’t feel too guilty because all I ate was the chicken….I’m pretty sure that my husband absolutely regrets the cheat because he was NOT feeling super. Poor fella :(. Other than that little instance we are being strict about what we’re eating.

Tonight we’re cooking up a whole chicken in my crockpot. I’ve never bought a whole chicken before so WOWZERS at how inexpensive it was. Speaking of food, Chris and I are saving loads of money. We’re spending about $125 a week on food (we buy meat in bulk) but neither of us are eating out during the week so that’s where we are a saving so much money. That helps make us feel better when we spend $5 on raspberries or $7 on bacon. Yay for that. I hope everyone enjoys their evening I know we are 🙂

Toodles,

Chris n Ash

Leave a comment