Day 12: I’m all in

Sorry I’ve been so quiet lately, it’s been a crazy few days. I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I’m a teacher and the kiddies came back on Wednesday. That meant no more 1 o’clock posts in my pjs 😦 . However, Chris and I have been plugging away at our whole 30. I have had it with vegetables and chicken though. I feel like that’s all we’re eating (probably because it is. I called my husband tonight and asked him if he wanted to have a heat night…… He said no. Haha, I’ll be glad that we stayed in track when this whole thing is over. I’m getting to the point where I feel amazing throughout the day with consistent energy. The downside though is that I’m extremely hungry ALL the time. The other night I wanted to see how many calories I was taking in so I downloaded an app to help me out. I’m only having about 800 calories a day and I can’t think of a way to make that number go up. We eat big meals but the problem is that vegetables have very low caloric content. So we’re trying to figure out how to make sure we are eating enough calories in the day. Good news though, I went to the doctor today and I’ve lost 7 pounds. It hasn’t even been 2 weeks yet. I’m so excited to see some progress. My clothes fit SO much better too! I know in the end all this will be worth it, I’m just ready for some paleo cookies or blueberry muffins!

I was thinking about this concept if being “all in.” If I’m not mistaken the term comes from poker and refers to when a player wants to bet everything they have. I can only think of 2 reasons why someone would want to do that. Either they have the best hand that can’t be beaten OR they’re desperate and have nothing to lose. I was thinking about this in relation to this diet; I’m desperate to get healthy and I have nothing to lose (but maybe some pounds). The only way for me to be successful is to be fully emerged and committed. That is the only way I can make a drastic change in my life. I learned that about myself 4 years ago when I decided to accept Christ. I went back forth about what I was willing to give up and I finally came to the conclusion that I’m either in or out. That mind set reappeared as we were making decisions about this month. We were going to tweak the requirements to fit our needs. I was determined to keep oatmeal in my diet(my second favorite breakfast food next to bisquits). But I knew I wouldn’t get the results I wanted if I added in foods that are illegal to whole30. What I’m trying to point out is that commitment and full immersion are key to success (at least for me). I believe if this is something you’re considering you may want to start asking yourself the hard questions like can I really give up oatmeal and stick with it?

Before I close I thought I’d share a silly story. Chris and I love homemade spaghetti sauce and Chris is usually the one to make the sauce. Well…… He came home late so I decided to start the sauce early. Boy did I screw it up! I got a little spice crazy and added the wrong spices and made it a little sweet. Neither of us enjoyed the meal and made some green smoothies instead. Hopefully you can avoid my mistake the next time you make a homemade spaghetti sauce 🙂

Have a great weekend,

Chris, Ash, and my sweet pup alf

3 thoughts on “Day 12: I’m all in”

  1. Proud of you. Hard to give up the oatmeal, huh? Bet Papa couldn’t do that, remember he ate oatmeal or cream of wheat every day. Love you so much, Grand-ma

Leave a Reply

