Day 4: what’s with all the coconut?

I think almost every recipe we’ve tried so far has contained coconut in some form. My husband hates coconut in general, so it was difficult to convince him to try it. Turns out that coconut oil and coconut milk do not have that traditional coconut taste and we’ve been using it in everything. Specifically I made this incredible Italian chicken soup and it used a whole can of coconut milk. Ohhhh man, it was absolutely delicious. The recipe is easy and takes no time to get it going.

Here’s what you need: 1 can chicken broth, 1 can coconut milk, 1 can diced tomatoes (keep the juice), 3-4 chicken breasts, 2 tbsp Italian seasoning, 1 tbsp dried basil and if you want you can add other things like spinach, mushrooms, garlic, or carrots. I added spinach and garlic and carrots and dannnnggggg….it was very savory and creamy. Oh btw this is all done in the crockpot. The recipe said to put on medium heat for 7 hours, but I got it going a little late and cooked it on high 6 hours. Yum yum yum.

20140102-150007.jpg

There’s a pic of it after we cut up the chicken with my awesome pampered chef salad choppers. Yeah I used salad choppers and I specifically bought them to shred chicken 🙂 enough about my dinner lets talk breakfast! I attempted a sweet potato hash and let me preface it by saying that it tasted amazing. However, I think I did a few things wrong but I’m not sure what. Haha there are plenty of recipes out there and maybe I should try a different one? But if you love hashbrowns, then this is a great choice for breakfast.

I will say that the struggle is real. Eating clean is awesome and we’re eating good food, but going to the grocery store just about kills me. Chris and I walked down the baking isle (to get to spices of course) and we could literally smell the sugar. Haha, I’m not sure if I’ve just not noticed it before or if it’s because I haven’t had sugar in 5 days. Either way my mouth was salivating and I wanted to buy all the cookies. I’m just glad my husband was there because he wouldn’t let me 🙂 aside from the cravings my head seems to be more “clear” if that makes any sense. I don’t feel so groggy all the time. The other nice thing I’ve noticed is that I have loads more energy and the fatigue is just about gone. BUT I do go back to work tomorrow so I may have some trouble adjusting to a working schedule. Chris has mentioned that he feels more energetic too!

Speaking of work, I am not a morning person. The only thing that stinks about breaks (I’m a high school teacher) is getting off schedule and having to get back into routine. So bring on the coffee! Which is Whole30 and we are both so thankful. Only problem is I love creamer and sugar in my coffee 😦 those are not whole30 friendly. I believe almond milk is okay but it’s a dairy product (at least I think it is) and that’s a no no on this diet. So what’s a girl to do? This girl switched to caffeinated tea. Yup, we also love tea and have tons of it on hand. I specifically like the lady grey tea made by twinnings. It’s a black tea with hints of orange and lemon and bergamot. When we go paleo, there will definitely be some almond milk in the house and I’ll resume my coffee habit, but for now the tea is working. Speaking of tea, herbal teas are good for you and with it being winter I highly suggest having a cup of tea everyday. That’s my own opinion and there are no scientific facts to back that up.

That’s all I got today, hope everyone is enjoying their day and my lovely blog

Laters,

Chris, Ash, and our sweet pup Alfred

2 thoughts on “Day 4: what’s with all the coconut?”

  1. Yes, I am enjoying your up-dates. Thanks for the suggestion, I needed to be reminded to have a least one cup of tea a day. Guess what I am wanting to try some of those recipes. Sure sound good. So happy that Chris is supporting you in this, would be much harder if you had to do it on your own and would have to make those “no, no” things for him. Keep going you are doing great. Love you, Grand-ma

  2. Tea just makes your soul feel warm 🙂 it’s one of my favorite things to drink in the winter. If you ever want a recipe, just give me a call. Most of this stuff is simple to do. Love ya

Leave a Reply

