Day 3: need vs want

ImageImage

I thought i’d post some pics of the yummy stuff we’re making. Last night we made a homemade spaghetti sauce and it was absolutely delicious.  I would recommend making that to anyone on any diet that loves spaghetti.  We used 2 cans of tomato sauce 1 can of rotel diced white onion diced green peppers 2 cloves of minced garlic and some shakes of red pepper flakes, basil, and cilantro.  Whew it was kickin’. I like to use ground turkey and here’s why: it’s much cheaper than ground beef and it is naturally lean.  I don’t have to drain the turkey after it’s cooked to get all the extra fats off. Yum yum.  Then for the noodle part! This is where we may defer because when you make spaghetti you use spaghetti noodles, well not on this diet.  There are several different things you can use to make faux noodles Tandy all you need is a julienne peeler to make that happen. We used zucchini last night, but you can also use squash and carrots to make noodles and it is beyond easy to steam them.  The noodle part of the meal took 5 minutes between peeling the zucchini and steaming it.  I think total meal time from start to finish was 30 min and we had a fabulous dinner and were completely satisfied for the rest of the evening.

BTW Happy New Year!!!! We are very excited for this upcoming year, mostly because this will be our first married year together 🙂 I know, how sweet! We feel confident this will be a magnificent year filled with blessings.  Speaking of New Years, last night was a struggle because hanging out with people eating non whole 30 things with lots of different chocolate options is not fun to have to turn down.  Besides, we were hanging with my mom who thinks its fun to tempt me with the best looking toffee I’ve ever seen 😦 . What a mean momma!! Chris and I held out though and we are thankful for it today.  I thought this would be fun to mention as well, I was asked last night why we started on Monday and didn’t wait until Jan 1st.  Haha well I have 2 reasons (I love feeling justified) why that is, first being we grocery shop in the weekends and didn’t want to buy more junk for just 2 days, plus it defeated the purpose of clearing out our food supplies. The second reason is sorta silly, I didn’t want this to be considered a New Years resolution because those tend to fail.  I know, I’m a silly girl!!!

So, if you’re curious where we found information on whole 30 then you should check out their website http://www.whole9life.com and there is tons of information on what we’re doing.  There’s also a list of things you can have and can’t have plus a very useful shopping list that highlights the best fruits and veggies to eat.

another website that I highly recommend is http://www.nomnompaleo.com .  Talk about TONS of awesome recipes for every part of the day you can imagine.

I titled this post need vs want for several reasons. First reason is the most obvious; wanting foods vs needing foods.  That’s one of the biggest things we’ve learned so far (in our 2 days of doing this and 10 days of preparing).  What is necessary to survive? Do you really need to eat tons of processed breads and pastas? Should you have desserts every day? Must you drink milk and is fat free really the best option? The answer to all those questions is no.  You do not need any of those things to survive, in fact you’re better off without them. Now do I want to eat a huge bowl of pasta with the best cheese out there and have a glass of Riesling to wash it down, absolutely. But what i’m learning is that I don’t need any of that stuff and it really doesn’t do me any good nutritionally.  For the next 28 days we are only putting in what we need to survive.  Second reason I titled my post need vs want is because ive been asked several times “are you sure you want to do this.”  I’ve got a few different responses to that question.  if you would have asked me on Christmas Day after eating the best ham ive ever had plus all the cookies and cheese dip I ate prior to said ham, my answer would have been YES I WANT TO BECAUSE I FEEL AWFUL RIGHT NOW.  if you were to ask me that question today my answer would be NO, WHAT WAS I THINKING.  But again, this is want vs need. For my own health I need to do this and reset how I feel about foods and what I put into my temple.  I need to do this to practice discipline.  I need to do this because it feels so amazing to set a goal and accomplish it.  I need to do this because what’s 30 days in comparison to a lifetime?   So, be careful when you ask us that question because instead of a simple answer you’ll get a paragraph about wants vs needs 🙂

Let’s talk for a minute about the rescind picture I posted.  That has been our yummy breakfast for the past 3 mornings.  The fruit has been rotating between bananas and berries, but the bacon ups have been consistent.  I think we’re out of them finally! They sure were yummy so I think I’m going to make them again Sunday but maybe with prosciutto instead.  Let me just tell you, we have been through a dozen and a half of eggs this week.  I had to run to the store and buy more yesterday! That’s a crazy amount of eggs.

Will this will do for today, we’re going fit make homemade Lara bars, chicken salad, and ranch dressing (jealous yet?).  Have a fabulous new year’s day 🙂

p.s. Shout out to my grandma for reading this everyday! If anyone supports us, it’s you!! love ya granny rose

Chris, Ash, and Alfie

4 thoughts on “Day 3: need vs want”

Leave a Reply

